https://music.ucsb.edu/ #ucsbmusic
View map

UC Santa Barbara Chamber Orchestra
Maxim Kuzin, Music Director

Join us for an enchanting night filled with captivating music featuring the UCSB Chamber Orchestra under the leadership of Music Director Maxim Kuzin on Monday, June 5th at 7:30 PM at Lotte Lehmann Concert Hall. The performance commences with Beethoven’s powerful Die Ruinen von Athen (The Ruins of Athens) Overture followed by Felix Mottl’s meticulous arrangement of Gluck’s Ballet Suite No.1, leaving listeners immersed in a charming tapestry woven out of baroque era dance melodies.

Don't miss out on the special highlight of the evening -- UCSB composition student Martina Chen’s masterful composition ‘For That Which Has Been Forgotten.’ This short piece promises to be a resonating experience reaching deep into the memories of one's childhood as it connects the past with the modern. The grand finale of the night is Smetana’s thrilling “Vltava” (The Moldau) tone poem; as audiences join a journey down the river, the music invites them to the unforgettable climax of this remarkable evening filled with classical and contemporary music intertwined in perfection.

This unforgettable concert promises to showcase the enduring power of music, from the classical to the new, as we journey through stories told in symphony. We look forward to seeing you there!

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Die Ruinen von Athen, op.113 (The Ruins of Athens): Overture (1811)

Christoph Willibald Gluck (1714-1787)
Ballet Suite No.1 (arr. Mottl)

Martina Chen (composition student)
For That Which Has Been Forgotten

Bedřich Smetana (1824-1884)
Vltava (The Moldau) (1874)

General ($10); Senior/Military/Non-UCSB students with ID ($7); UCSB students with ID and children under 12 (FREE)

Buy Tickets


Event Details

0 people are interested in this event